Cathy's Crochet Corner

It’s in the Bag!

Posted on: March 30, 2012

In yesterday’s post I said I made a gift bag…and something was inside!

So, what was it?In_the_bag1_033012

Well…the bag contained a hat and a pair of booties!  They are for a little guy who was is only a few weeks old.

By the time cold weather rolls around he should be able to wear them!

The hat is made using a variation on a basic hat pattern.

Some hat patterns call for a rectangle that is joined at a seam to form a tube.  From there a piece of yarn runs through the top edge and is pulled tight like a drawstring. Turn it inside out and weave in all the edges – and there you have it!

I varied this basic pattern.In_the_bag3_033012

I used basic ribbing in half-double crochet to form a rectangle. (Half-double in the back loop only.)

Once I folded the rectangle in half and made the seam, I made a row of single crochet around the top, decreasing (single crochet two together) every six stiches.  (Yes, count the stiches first!)

The next row was decreased every five stiches.  The next row was decreased every four stiches.

The reason for doing this is to have less bulk when you finally do insert a drawstring and pull it closed!In_the_bag2_033012

The little mukluks are a favorite pattern.  I’ve made many pair of these.  I love to watch the little booties take shape!  Once you’re done they look like they’re going to march away!

The pattern is from Bernat.

The pattern is free but you may need to register on the web site to see it – http://www.bernat.com/pattern.php?PID=4185&cps=21191

I had a lot of fun setting up the past two posts…I think I may do this every so often.

Stay tuned for more crocheting including more of “What’s in the Bag?”

Happy Crocheting!

In_the_bag4_033012grey_bag1

7 Responses to "It’s in the Bag!"

I came back to see the surprise! What a cute gift and UNIQUE gift bag!

Thanks, John! That’s one of the things that’s fun about what I do! Almost everything is one of a kind! 🙂

i like the mukluks especially – and it’s such a great idea to make a gift bag to go with the set =)

Hi stitchedupmama! The little mukluks are one of my favorite patterns. Very easy! I get a lot of comments how “no one makes homemade gifts anymore!” and they are likely to keep the entire set as a keepsake. 🙂

I love those mukluks 🙂

They are probably my favorite thing to make! Not hard at all, a quick project and so cute when they’re done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

