Cathy's Crochet Corner

Blue Blanket for Two

Posted on: August 6, 2012

As I mentioned in my main blog, I made a king-sized blanket as a gift.

2012-07-06_17-36-05_155

It measures 72 inches x 74 inches.  It’s shown above on a king-size bed.

The main pattern is done by crocheting a row of single crochet.  The next row is a “skip one, 2 double in the next single, double in the next single, then a double in the singe that was originally skipped.” 

The picture below is a basic diagram of the pattern.

image

The pattern continues for an entire skein.  I alternated nine skeins in varying shades of blue.

2012-07-06_17-36-26_663

The side panels are “half-double crochet and chain one repeat.” I used two skeins on each side.2012-07-06_17-36-50_464 

The outer edge is also the same “half-double crochet chain one repeat.”  There are a couple of rows in alternating colors.

2012-07-15_16-24-56_604

The corners are half-double, chain two, half-double.  It gives a nice turn!  The last row is all single crochet.2012-07-15_16-23-51_745

I will say it took a while to complete but I was very satisfied with the result.

A blanket made for two!

 

6 Responses to "Blue Blanket for Two"

I like your nice neat edges. Your work is fabulous 🙂

Thanks, Judy! It’s definitely something I’ve learned over time! 🙂

Just beautiful! Love the colors.

Hi Lori! Thanks for you comment, and for stopping by my site!

A blanket for king-sized bed?! WOW! I’m impressed.

Thanks! It was the largest item I’d ever made. The couple who received it were really happy so that made it all worthwhile! 🙂

Leave a Reply

